Five Tier System: How To Apply for Visa in the UK

The UK immigration law was modified, leading to the introduction of five tiers, a points-based visa system. The newly created system intends to make the visa application procedure significantly more efficient and logical. There would be fewer, more simple procedures once there were over 80 different types of visa application processes. All applicants must submit a passport with a picture, an application, the required fee, biometric information, and any additional tier-specific documents under the new system.

Five Tier System

There are many reasons people want to apply for a visa to enter the United Kingdom. Therefore, the UK has a well-organized visa system based on the purpose of a tourist and different visa types. Below is the breakdown of the five tiers:

Tier One Visa:

It applies to migrants with specific occupational skills or who want to be self-employed in the country. You don’t need a sponsor, but you need to show enough funds to support yourself. A partner, spouse, and dependent children under the age of 18 may accompany you if they have received the required visas, and you may show proof of your ability to support them. The validity of this visa is limited to two years. Check out Imperium Chambers deal in UK immigration appeals.

Tier Two Visa:

It is applicable to skilled individuals who have received a job offer. Before sending your application, you must get a sponsor and sponsorship accreditation. You should present proof of financial support for yourself and any accompanying dependents. This visa is only valid for three years and one month, or for the duration stated on your sponsorship certificate plus one month, whichever precedes. Seek help with UK tier 2 visa extension right here.

Tier Three Visa:

It applies to employees with only basic skills who temporarily want to work in the country. This visa is valid for only twelve months, and the holder needs to return home at the end of that period. This visa will not enable you to bring any dependents with you.

Tier Four Visa:

It applies to students who want to finish their studies in the UK. This visa requires a certificate of sponsorship, often provided by the school that accepts the applicant to a study program. This visa is valid for the specific course of study, and the school will be needed to confirm your capability as a student.

Tier Five Visa:

It is intended for young people in the country who are working on short-term specialty projects. Your home country’s government needs to serve as your sponsor, and you must show that you have the money to support yourself. This visa is valid for only two years, and you can not bring dependents or spouses with you.

A UK visa is a file that permits people from all over the world to enter, stay momentarily, or live permanently in the UK. A visa is generally a stamp in your passport or a document released by a British consulate or embassy in your home country. Consult with the best barristers practising in the country today.


This is just a quick rundown of each of the new points-based visa system’s five main tiers. Each main tier has sub-tiers that bring the application’s specific details and requirements. If you are unsure which tier your application belongs in, it is always good to seek advice from a certified and professional immigration attorney in the UK. Many government websites and offices can give visa information, application procedures, and answers to many of today’s most frequently asked questions about UK immigration.